Here and Now; The Spiritual Unity Principle

6 03 2010

In an earlier post, Perceptual Fog, I discussed the principle of Now, that span of time that we inhabit, which occupies absolutely no space on the time line.  Now is a very important concept to consider, because it clearly defines the difference between one’s body and one’s eternal soul.

My body has been smeared across the time line like butter on bread.  It exists along a range of points, and it encompasses an infinite number of infinitely small points, of which Now is one.  However, Now is where I am, and Now does not exist at all of those points.  Therefore, I do not belong with my body in the past, nor do I belong with my body in the future.  If you could build a time machine and travel back in time, you might see me living my life, doing all of the things that I have done, but I am not there.  You would only see the physical shell of me.  In theory, if I went back to that time, I would think all of the same thoughts that I did then, and I would be unaware that I had traveled back to that point.  This may be true, but I am, in fact, not at that point.  I am here, even if for a fleeting fraction of a second.  I can no more inhabit the body of my past than I can inhabit the body of my neighbor.

This is the essence of my immortal soul: regardless of my body’s influence on my memory or my temperament or my rationality, I am what I experience.  I am that, even if what I experience is a dream or a hallucination or an illusion.  Even if it’s wrong, so long as I experience it, then it was me.  The reason that Now occupies no space on the time line, despite the fact that our bodies occupy an entire range of the time line, is that the soul is of this property.  The soul has a location on the line, but it occupies no length of it.  If it did, then it would contain an infinite number of infinitely small points, meaning that it would be not one soul, but many.  A soul is indivisible.  You cannot be more than one person, and you cannot be less than one.  The essential you is a point.

The paradox in all of this is that while your body can exist at different points in the time line at the same time, your soul cannot.  As soon as your soul moves to the next point in time, it no longer exists at the previous point.  Now is the only point you will ever occupy, even if Now moves onward.  The important thing to note, here, is that the idea of whether a thing can occupy different points of time at the same time uses a secondary time line for comparison.  That is to say that we’ve inadvertently added a second dimension to time, making it not a line, but a plane.  The body occupies all of the same points in time that the Now merely visits.  The former does all at once what the latter does in sequence.

The time line that we measure with clocks is only for physical things, as clocks are physical things.  The spirit is not physical, which is why, though it can be located on the time line, it cannot take up any space on it.  It’s like the intersection of two lines, or, in this case, the intersection of the two axis of our now two-dimensional time.

In Ezekiel 3:16-21, the Lord tells us that we will be judged by what we are at the end of our lives, regardless of how good or evil we were formerly.  Some take this to mean that the future trumps the past.  It does not.  The last moment of our lives possesses no future.  In that instant, there will only be the Now and the past.  Because we are the Now, and the past is but a shell that we left behind, God judges the Now.  That is to say that God judges our souls, not our bodies.  God isn’t waiting for you to die to judge your soul.  If your soul has not been redeemed by the blood of Christ, then you stand condemned already.

The body occupies an infinite number of infinitely small points along the time line, but it also holds a similar quantity of points in physical space.  The soul, however, is not matter.  It does not occupy any space.  It does, however, have a location in space, just like it has a location along the time line.  That location is an absolute point, and it cannot exist at two points at the same time.

Many authors have speculated about the exact abode of the human soul within the body.  Some have written theoretical works on mining that magical organ from the body and refining it to a pure soul-body interface.  Descartes believed it was the pineal gland.  C. S. Lewis speculated in an unfinished fiction that it might be a special part of the brain.  All of these authors hit at a profound point, and all of them miss it, entirely.  The entire pineal gland, and any section of brain would be far too large to be called the most essential part of our existence.  If a whole organ is as far as we can narrow it down, then we have not gone much further than to say that the human soul exists somewhere within the human body.  In that case, we’re just dealing with a smaller chunk of flesh and no more.

The key to understanding the soul’s relation to the body is to consider their analogy to the time line.  The soul is a point, and the body is a region.  They can both cover the same areas, but while the body takes the whole region at once, the soul moves about, taking one point at a time.  Even secular science has tried to narrow down the place in the brain where we live.  They think that it exists in the temporal lobe, near its junction with the parietal lobe.  However, there are two of each lobe and only one of me.  If we can narrow it down to that, then can we identify the exact neuron?  Any particular ion pump?  A single ion?  Perhaps, an electron?

We can eliminate as much of our body in the quest for the abode of the soul as we wish, but so long as we have any left, then we are no closer to the truth than if we had eliminated nothing.  You can remove a leg, yet still be yourself.  In fact, you can remove your entire body and still be yourself.  In a way, you have done exactly that already.  The body of your past has been cut away from you.  None of it was left intact.  You have no power to re-inhabit it, like you have no power to inhabit your dog.

Now is a point without a range.  Here is also a point without a range.  There is an age-old question that asks how many angels you can fit on the head of a pin.  The answer is that you can fit them all on the head of a pin and still have room for more.

Two lines intersect at a point.  One line is physical and the other is spiritual.  The physical component is made of time and space.  The soul forms a point in time and a point in space.  One is the Now, and the other is the Here.  The soul has no substance in either, but it has a definite location in both.  That point is always on the move.

The only question you have left to ask yourself is, “Where, exactly, is it going?”

Actions

Information




